SmarterPath users are created when a Jive user actually opens the SmarterPath app (add-on), for the first time (i.e. not when a Jive user is created), or whenever a Path is assigned to them.
SmarterPath users remain unaffected, even if the corresponding Jive user has been deleted or deactivated; the SmarterPath user then still exists, remains active, and thus also keeps a license 'occupied'.
SmarterPath users can be deactivated manually under Administration - Manage Users. This will release their SmarterPath license. Manually updating SmarterPath users in the database is possible, but this is considered to be standard Support, and will only be considered upon explicit customer request.